Foundation for Rehabilitation Psychology

The Foundation of Rehabilitation Psychology (FRP) was founded in 2005 to “enhance health, independence, and quality of life throughout the lifespan…through education and research in the field of Rehabilitation Psychology”. Incorporated as a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit charitable organization in 2008, the organization’s mission and vision have evolved over time and are now the following:

Mission: Advancing the psychology of disability and chronic health conditions

Vision: Improving society by making the foundational insights of the psychology of disability and chronic health conditions common knowledge

An endowment was initiated in 2005 to support FRP initiatives intended to achieve that mission and vision and now amounts to over $100,000. Current FRP activities include providing a source of financial support for the annual mid-Winter meeting of Division 22, encouraging the growth of the field through financial support to promising students via dissertation and Mid-Winter meeting research awards, and identifying and promoting a series of classic publications which provide the scholarly foundations for our specialty. The Foundation remains actively engaged in fund raising with the goal in mind of increasing the endowment used to support those initiatives.

The foundation is accepting tax deductible donations to support:

  • The Bernard Brucker Continuing Professional Education Fund supports professional education in Rehabilitation Psychology (The annual accrual of funds in this account is provided to Division 22 in support of the Mid-Winter annual meeting).

  • The Mitchell Rosenthal Student Scholarship Fund supports pre-doctoral research in Rehabilitation Psychology, as well as the FRP General Fund.

  • Non-designated activities (General Fund).


Your contribution to FRP ensures that the foundation’s mission is achieved. Initial donors helped the foundation achieve its first milestone of raising $100,000. Your gift will help the foundation toward its intermediate goal of $250,000, which will in turn allow the foundation to provide more support to the division for research and training.


  • Dan Rohe, PhD, ABPP, Mayo Clinic and College of Medicine, President

  • John D. Corrigan, PhD, ABPP, Ohio State University, Treasurer

  • J. Scott Richards, PhD, ABPP, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Secretary

  • Kate Brown, PhD, Independent Practice

  • Suzanne Bruyere, PhD, Cornell University

  • Dana S. Dunn, PhD, Moravian College

  • Dawn Ehde, PhD, University of Washington

  • Allen Heinemann, PhD, ABPP, Northwestern University

  • Barry Nierenberg, PhD, ABPP, Nova Southeastern University

  • Stephen Wegener, PhD, ABPP, Johns Hopkins University


  • Joseph Rath, PhD, New York University School of Medicine, President for Division 22

  • Sarah Johnstone, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota, Student representative

Honorary Trustees

  • Beatrice Wright, PhD

  • Leonard Diller, PhD


J. Scott Richards, PhD
1717 6th Ave S
Spain Rehabilitation Center
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL 35233
Phone: (205) 991-3941

Annual Reports

2018 Report

2017 Report

2016 Report

2015 Report

2014 Report

2013 Report