The Foundation for Rehabilitation Psychology 2013 Annual Report

The Foundation for Rehabilitation Psychology (FRP) was established in 2005 by a group of past presidents of the Division of Rehabilitation Psychology (Division 22) of the American Psychological Association (APA). They envisioned the foundation as the means through which all who care about the future of rehabilitation psychology could invest in its vitality and growth through tax-deductible donations and planned gifts.

Mission and Strategic Planning

The Foundation for Rehabilitation Psychology is a charitable 501(c) 3 corporation. Over time, the FRP mission has evolved from a focus on improving the lives of persons with chronic health conditions and disability through research and education, to a focus on supporting research, education, and the advancement of the profession of Rehabilitation Psychology. In 2013, the FRP Board completed an extensive strategic planning process resulting in an enhanced mission and vision statement, with specific strategies, goals and timelines delineated for the next five years. A synopsis of the plan will be posted on the division website.

Accomplishments and Goals

The board had planned on distributing grants when the Foundation’s funds reached $100,000. We reached that level in 2012 after 7 years of the Foundation’s existence. Expenditures in 2013 in support of the field were as follows:

Annual Conference Support 
The foundation provided a $500 grant to support the 2013 Rehabilitation Psychology annual conference and committed a similar amount to the 2014 meeting. This grant makes the educational meeting more affordable for rehabilitation psychologists and graduate students. Grants in support of the conference were made in the four previous years.

Student Research Awards 
The foundation provided $1,000 in 2013 for student research awards at the 2013 annual conference and committed a similar amount for the 2014 meeting.

Dissertation Awards 
The foundation held its second competition in 2013 for rehabilitation dissertation grants, and awarded two grants for a total of $6,000. Recipients are:

Kaitlin Blackstone is from San Diego State University/University of California San Diego joint doctoral program where her mentors are David Moore, PhD, and Robert Heaton, PhD. Her dissertation will evaluate the efficacy of a brief metacognitive training module for neurocognitive rehabilitation in individuals with executive dysfunction in the context of comorbid methamphetamine dependence and HIV infection.

Michael Williams is a doctoral student at Wayne State University under the mentorship of Lisa Rapport, PhD, and Robin Hanks, PhD. His dissertation research is focused on neuropsychological predictors of engagement in rehabilitation therapy and functional independence in individuals with acquired brain injury.

The foundation's intermediate fund raising goal is to raise $250,000, to sustain and enhance the level of support provided this year. The long-term goal is to establish an endowment of one million dollars. This endowment will permit investment earnings to substantially underwrite the annual conference and provide graduate student dissertation research grants in perpetuity.

In addition to a General Fund, the Foundation for Rehabilitation Psychology has established two special funds that align with our mission and honor two individuals with notable contributions to our field.

The Bernard Brucker Continuing Professional Educational Fund supports the Rehabilitation Psychology annual meeting. Bernie was a President of Division 22, a founding member of FRP, and a founder member and President of the American Board of Rehabilitation Psychology. He was also an innovative researcher and internationally renowned speaker until his death in 2008.

The Mitchell Rosenthal Fund provides funds to support doctoral dissertation and other student research in Rehabilitation Psychology. Dr. Rosenthal was a President of Division 22 and a founding member and President of FRP until his death in 2007. Dr. Rosenthal was also a founding member and President of the American Board of Rehabilitation Psychology. He was a world-renowned leader in the field of brain injury rehabilitation as a researcher, writer, and mentor to hundreds of students and colleagues.

Endowment Fund Management 
The Foundation for Rehabilitation Psychology works with the Columbus Foundation, a large community foundation, to manage the operational aspects of our endowment. Their low fees minimize expenses and allow the Foundation to function without paid staff. They offer over 70 years of experience currently manage over $1.5 billion in assets. They have expertise in planned giving and can consult with donors for gifting in their wills.

Year-End Financial Summary for 2013 
The foundation maintains a checking account with US Bank for small expenses; the balance at the end of 2013 was $508.37. The Columbus Foundation maintains the “Foundation for Rehabilitation Psychology Organization Endowment Fund (2306)” with assets of $103,829.53 at the end of 2013. Total assets of the Foundation for Rehabilitation Psychology were $104,337.90 at the end of 2013. Individuals donating to FRP in 2013 include:

Dr. Robert T. Fraser, Dr. and Mrs. Charles D. Callahan, Dr. Janet Farmer, Dr. Donald Kewman, Dr. Mary G. Brownsberger, Dr. and Mrs. Donald F. Wilson, Dr. Terrie L. Price, Dr. Lisa A. Brenner, Dr. Charles H. Bombardier, Dr. Kristine Barton, Edythe Rosenthal, Drs. Nancy and Charles Merbitz, Dr. Alan L. Goldberg, Dr. Daniel E. Rohe, Dr. Tessa Hart, Dr. Sigmund Hough, Dr. Ellen B. Snoxell, Dr. Lester Butt.

A sincere thank you to our generous donors.

Foundation Governance

  • Dan Rohe, PhD, ABPP, Mayo Clinic and College of Medicine, President

  • Charles D. Callahan, PhD, ABPP, Memorial Health System, Vice President

  • J. Scott Richards, PhD, ABPP, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Secretary

  • John D. Corrigan, PhD, ABPP, Ohio State University, Treasurer

  • Dana S. Dunn, PhD, Moravian College

  • Dawn Ehde, PhD, University of Washington

  • Allen Heinemann, PhD, ABPP, Northwestern University

  • Barry P. Nierenberg, PhD, ABPP, Nova Southeastern University

  • Stephen T. Wegener, PhD, ABPP, Johns Hopkins University