Current and Past Accolades

Dr. Stephen Wegener (December 2017)

Congratulations to Dr. Stephen Wegener who won the 2017 Donlin M. Long Award. This is a prestigious award given annually to those who have served the Johns Hopkins community in advancing the standards of pain care, and embodied the institution’s dedication to alleviate suffering and pain associated with illness.

Check it out at:

Dr. Hilary Bertisch (November 2017)

As part of the ACRM podcast series for November, 2017, Dr. Hilary Bertisch was interviewed about firearm-related brain injuries, based on her recent manuscript entitled “Characteristics of Firearm Brain Injury Survivors in the Traumatic Brain Injury Model Systems (TBIMS) National Database: A Comparison of Assault and Self-Inflicted Injury Survivors.”

Here’s the link:

Dr. Dana Dunn (October 2017)

Congratulations to Dr. Dana Dunn who recently published “How a Classic Exercise Helps Students Understand Disability” in the Chronicle of Higher Education (September 17, 2017). Additionally, on 10/13/17, he will be presenting a webinar on “Rehabilitation Psychology and the Foundational Principles.”

Dr. Kimberly Monden (October 2017)

Congratulations to Dr. Kimberly Monden and her colleagues at Craig Hospital (Dr. Susan Chalifue and Jennifer Coker, MPH) who were awarded a $2.4 million grant from NIDILRR through the Disability and Rehabilitation Research Projects (DRRP) mechanism for the project "ReInventing Yourself after Spinal Cord Injury: A Multi-Site Randomized Controlled Trial of an Intervention to Improve Outcomes after Spinal Cord Injury.” This project is a multi-site collaboration with the Kessler Foundation (Dr. Amanda Botticello Dr. Lauren Strober) and the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor (Dr. Denise Tate & Martin Forchheimer, MPP).

Dr. Robert Karol (October 2017)

Congratulations to Dr. Rober Karol who was awarded the Cifu Lecture Award for “Distinguished Contributions to the Field of Brain Injury.”

Dr. Jeanne Hoffman (September 2017)

Congratulations to Dr. Jeanne Hoffman who was awarded a $12.7 million grant from the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute to improve post-acute care for patients with a traumatic brain injury (TBI).

Dr. Timothy Elliott (July 2017)

Dr. Timothy Elliott is the Training Director for the Texas A&M University Counseling Psychology doctoral program, which is accredited by the American Psychological Association. Dr. Elliott’s home department at Texas A&M University awarded him with the Outstanding Service Award for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Additionally, he was one of six recipients of the Association of Former Students Distinguished Research Achievement Awards. The award was conferred by Texas A&M University on April 1, 2017. This award is presented to faculty who exhibit the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M University. Check it out at:

This past spring, Auburn University College of Education also presented Dr. Elliott with their Outstanding Educator Alumni Award. Dr. Elliott received his master’s degree in Rehabilitation Counseling from Auburn University College in 1981. This award recognizes a graduate of the college who is a practitioner directly engaged with students, teachers, counselors, or librarians and can be from a school, university, agency, or community setting. Additional information about the ceremony and Dr. Elliott’s experiences at Auburn and the mentoring he received is provided below. Check it out at:

Dr. Robert Karol (July 2017)

Dr. Robert Karol is President of Karol Neuropsychological Services & Consulting. Dr. Karol has been elected to the United States Brain Injury Alliance Board of Directors (USBIA).The USBIA Mission engages the community in preventing brain injuries and improving lives. There are currently 16 Chartered State Affiliates.

He was also elected as Vice Chair of the Minnesota Department of Human Services Traumatic Brain Injury Advisory Committee (TBI AC). Its purpose is to provide recommendations to the Commissioner of the Department of Human Services on program development and service needs of persons with traumatic brain injury. Dr. Karol is the longest serving member of the Committee, having been on it since its inception more than 25 years ago.

Dr. Karol has also been elected to the Minnesota Academy of Medicine (MAM). Dating back to 1887, the MAM is organized for the promotion of educational, scientific, medical and surgical thought, for the exchange of scientific ideas, and for the association of physicians, medical scientists, and allied scholars on the basis of good fellowship and professional ability.